Excellence in short film has been recognised and awarded by the Australian Film Institute (AFI) and the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) since 1970. Short films so often serve as calling cards and stepping stones for our brightest emerging filmmakers. Prominent Australian filmmakers who have progressed their careers internationally following their short film success in Australia include Adam Elliot, Jane Campion, Peter Weir, Rachel Griffiths and David Michod, among others.

AFI | AACTA #SocialShorts was launched in 2014 to build on this strong tradition by providing an unprecedented opportunity for emerging Australian filmmakers to have their work seen, shared and acknowledged by film enthusiasts and the film industry. AFI | AACTA is committed to creating new opportunities to extend professional ambitions and progress successful Australian screen careers.

In addition to providing unique access to great Australian short films, #SocialShorts encourages viewers to share these via social media, introducing new audiences to Australian short films and filmmaking talent, and acknowledging the public thirst for content in this phase of the screen era. 


Congratulations to Vanessa Patterson of NSW who has won the 7th AACTA Awards Red Carpet Alert competition. 


Voting for #SocialShorts is simple.

There are three categories of short films (Comedy, Drama and Open). One entrant will win each category. Voting in each category is open for one week, with the winner for each announced at the start of the following week.

Comedy: voting is open from Monday 24 July until Sunday 30 July, 2017

Drama: voting is open from Monday 31 July until Sunday 6 August, 2017

Open: voting is open from Monday 7 August until Sunday 13 August, 2017

To vote, simply watch and like your favourite films on the #SocialShorts website – the short film with the most likes in each category wins. Then share your favourite short films on social media – by sharing, you are helping to raise the profile of Australian’s emerging filmmaking talent.

The winning filmmakers in each category will receive a cash prize, industry wide recognition, a mentorship with #SocialShorts Ambassadors, an AFTRS Short Course voucher, as well as tickets to attend the 7th AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Industry Luncheon in Sydney, where they will have the opportunity to  make new connections and discuss new collaborations with industry leaders.

By voting, you also have a chance to win! Complete the fields in the ‘Red Carpet Alert!’ pop-up to automatically go into the draw to win a double pass to the 7th AACTA Awards Ceremony and Official After Party held at The Star Event Centre, Sydney, on Wednesday 6 December 2017, including flights and accommodation. See Terms and Conditions here . Our winning voter will be announced on the #SocialShorts website on 21 August 2017.


AFI | AACTA is thrilled to have some amazing filmmakers on board as Ambassadors of this year’s #SocialShorts competition. Each is a successful short filmmaker in their own right. Learn more about each Ambassador by clicking on their profile.